Fire Commission
The Gary Fire Civil Service Commission oversees the fire department’s hiring, promotional and disciplinary processes. The fire commission is a six member board created by city ordinance authorized by state law. Membership to this board is by appointment. The Mayor and the City Council each appoint two representatives. Additionally members of the fire service elect 2 representatives. Pam Perez is the commission administrative assistant and is responsible for the day to day operations of the commission. The commission also hires an attorney to advise it, as well as to serve as a hearing officer in disciplinary matters. The Commission attorney is Clyde Compton. Current membership of the commission includes:

  • Chairman/Dwight Gardner – Council
  • Vice Chairman/Randall Williams – Fire Dept.
  • John Mastson – Mayor
  • Louis Rogers – Mayor
  • Melton Thomas – Fire Dept.
  • Ronald McMiller – Council

The Commission meets every third Thursday at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Room of the Parks Department.